Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Linkedin


The Division on Women and Crime developed out of the growing interest in the study of gender and women as offenders, victims, and professional employees of the criminal systems.

In the early years of the ASC, individual papers on gender, women and crime were presented from time to time at the annual meetings. But the first panel session devoted solely to the subject was not formed until 1975. In that year, Freda Adler's Sisters in Crime and Rita Simon's Women in Crime had just been published and there was a burst of new interest in the subject. Some 150 persons came to hear papers at that first panel chaired by Freda Adler.

Despite this encouraging beginning, few criminologists seemed to believe that the study of women and crime was central to criminology. Some even questioned how much researchable material there was on the topic. Those who were interested in these issues and who saw gender as a major, though largely ignored, factor in the study of crime began to band together. First gathering on an informal basis, then as a special caucus, and finally as a prospective division within the ASC, members met and worked to ensure a place at all subsequent ASC meetings for papers on gender, women and crime.

By 1981 there were 48 such papers in the program; by 1983 the number of papers on women and crime had almost doubled to 92.  The Division on Women and Crime was given divisional status at the ASC Executive Board meeting in November of 1981.  The constitution and by-laws of the division were finished and accepted by the ASC by 1983.

The Division on Women and Crime was the second division ever created within the ASC, after the Division on International Criminology.  Formal DWC elections were held in 1982 and Dr. P.J. Baunach became the new Division's first elected Chairperson.

Since that time, other divisions on Corrections & Sentencing, Critical Criminology, Developmental and Life-Course Criminology, Experimental Criminology, People of Color and Crime, and Victimology have also been developed. However, the Division on Women and Crime remains one of the largest and most active division in ASC. Dozens of panel sessions on gender, women and crime are now routinely interspersed throughout the ASC Annual Meeting Program. In the 1990s the Division worked to support the election of the ASC's first women Presidents, and to sponsor policy proposals on decarceration of imprisoned women.

A Timeline of Significant Events in the History of the Division on Women and Crime

  • 1975- ASC devotes its first panel to the topic of women and crime at the meetings held in Toronto.
  • 1977- A group of women meet informally in a hotel room at the Atlanta conference to discuss common concerns and interests of women in the ASC.  The group refers to itself as the "Women's Caucus."  ASC also holds a panel on women as professionals in criminal justice.
  • 1978- Another informal meeting is held at the ASC conference in Dallas.  ASC holds another panel on women as professionals in criminal justice.  Signs advertising the panel are repeatedly ripped down.
  • 1979- The first "formal" meeting (the start of the breakfast meeting tradition!) of the Women's Caucus happens at the ASC meeting in Philadelphia.
  • 1980- A formal luncheon meeting and cocktail party is held by the Women's Caucus at the ASC meeting in San Francisco.  A record twelve panels on women and crime are held at this meeting.  Towards the end of 1980, the group changes its name to "Women in ASC."
  •  1981- In September, P.J. Baunach sends a letter to the ASC membership soliciting support for the formation of a division 1981.  Nanci Koser Wilson and P.J. Baunach are elected co-chairs of the newly-renamed "Caucus for Women's Issues" (this is still pre-divisional status).  The historical record, though unclear, suggests that a constitution for the "Division on Women and Crime" was approved by the ASC Executive Board on 11/14/81.
  • 1982-The DWC holds its first meeting on November 4, 1982. The first elections were held at that meeting, and the first elected board consisted of P.J. Baunach as Chair, Nanci Koser Wilson as Vice-Chair, Anna Kuhl as Secretary, and interim Executive Counselors Cathy Spatz-Widom, Christine Rasche, and Ira Silverman.
  • 1984- The first official elections for DWC officers are held.  P.J. Baunach becomes the first elected chair of the DWC, but had already been serving as the appointed chair since 1982.
  • 1994- The DWC celebrated its 10th anniversary.
  • 2004- The DWC celebrated its 20th anniversary.
  • 2014- The DWC celebrated its 30th anniversary.

Chairs of the DWC

2017 - 2019      Sheetal Ranjan
2015 - 2017      Amanda Burgess-Proctor
2013 - 2015      Kim Cook
2011 - 2013      Amy D'Unger
2009 - 2011     Brenda Sims Blackwell
2007 - 2009    Venessa Garcia
2005 - 2007    Sharon RedHawk Love
2003 - 2005    Susan Sharp
2001 -  2003   Joanne Belknap
1999 - 2001     Nancy Wonders
1997 - 1999
1995 - 1997
1993 - 1995     Nicole Rafter
1991 - 1993
1989 - 1991
1987 - 1989     Meda Chesney-Lind
1985 - 1987
1983 - 1985
1982 - 1987     Phyllis Jo Baunach
1981 - 1982    Phyllis Jo Baunach and Nanci Koser Wilson (Co-Chairs of the pre-DWC Caucus for Women's Issues)