## 2021 DWC Internal Awards Committee Report

• Committee Members: Vera Lopez (chair), Lane Gillespie, Ziwei Qi, Amy Reckdenwald, Chris Smith

• Nominations were solicited for eight internal awards:

Distinguished Scholar Award New Scholar Award Lifetime Achievement Award CoraMae Richey Mann "Inconvenient Woman of the Year" Award Saltzman Award for Contributions to Practice Graduate Scholar Award Sarah Hall Award Book Award

• The call for nominations was first sent to the DWC listserv on 5/17/21 with a reminder on 5/31/21 for a due date of 6/15/21. The original due date was extended to 7/15/21.

• Vera Lopez and Lane Gillespie (co-chair for this committee in 2020) spent some time organizing the nominations for committee review and reaching out to potentially ineligible nominees (e.g., not an active member of the DWC).

• One or more eligible nominations were received for all but the Book Award. A nomination was received for the Book Award, but the book was published in 2021 and did not meet the award criteria. The chair notified the nominator and encouraged them to re-submit the nomination in 2022. There was a self-nomination for the Lifetime Achievement Award but after discussion, the committee decided not to support the self-nominee.

• All nomination materials were compiled in a shared Google folder. A Qualtrics survey, which required a password, was constructed for voting. Committee members were emailed the Google and Qualtrics links on 7/27/21 and were asked to review the nomination materials and submit their votes by 8/4/21. A specific rubric was not used for evaluation. Instead, committee members based their votes on the description of each award and the nomination materials received.

• Voting resulted in a clear winner for each award with the exception of the New Scholar Award. There were two votes for one nominee and three votes for the other, but after an email discussion, the committee decided that both nominees were worthy of this award. Thus, the committee elected to award two nominees and did so with Executive Board approval. All nominees and nominators were notified via email of the results on 8/21/21. Committee members put together bios for each of the winners and requested that DWC Chair Katherine Caukinen send out a notification to the DWC listserv and post on social media on 9/21/21.

• The 2021 Internal Award winners were:

Dr. Cara Rabe-Hemp - Distinguished Scholar Award

Dr. April Terry - New Scholar Co-Award Dr. Tara Sutton - New Scholar Award Dr. Eryn O'Neal - CoraMae Richey Mann "Inconvenient Woman of the Year" Award Sarah Murray - Graduate Scholar Award Dr. Valli Rajah - Sarah Hall Award Shamika Kelley - Saltzman Award